Within a well-balanced programme the Frascati Chamber Orchestra plays the Belgian premiere of Piet Swerts's new concerto for two pianos, called 'Passions'.

The composer about his creation:

“In my concerto, at least five of the basic passions are represented. I had many thoughts about an exact title for the third movement, first thinking of an Intermezzo, Romance and so on. Finally, the word Soupir(s) suggests the closest the very simple musical idea of this melancholic movement, I found the word in a verse of the Bible:

Ps.84:2 Mon âme soupire et languit après les parvis de l'Eternel, 

Mon coeur et ma chair poussent des cris vers le Dieu vivant.


It is my strong wish that this passionate music also reaches the passion of the music listener.”


The performance of Piet Swerts's concerto for two pianos will be preceded by that of Aaron Copland's Appalachian Spring in a version for Chamber Orchestra. The second part of the concert starts in a filmic mood with the Adagietto from Gustav Mahler's fifth symphony. The concert ends lyrically with the first chamber symphony of Dmitri Shostakovich - originally written for string quartet, but later on arranged for chamber orchestra by Rudolf Barschai.



Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring

Piet Swerts: concerto for two pianos "Passions"


Gustav Mahler: Adagietto from symphony no. 5

Dmitri Shostakovich: Chamber Symphony no. 1 in C minor

Frascati Chamber Orchestra conducted by Kris Stroobants
Piano: Martijn & Stefan Blaak


Sunday 24 March - 05:00 PM

CC De Warandepoort, Tervuren


Friday 29 March - 08:00 PM

30CC, Schouwburg, Leuven


© 2018 by Frascati Symphonic. Tiensevest 60, 3000 Leuven | Privacy Statement

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon